Artists of l’Île-du-Grand-Calumet

Christine Belanger

Norman-Scott_PSArt has been a part of Christine’s life since early childhood. The fascination with drawing the human face began in her late teens. After discovering soft pastels in a drawing class, she devoted herself to soft pastels and portraiture. Although self-taught in portraiture, she studied the Fine Arts program at Heritage College in Gatineau.

Christine has created many prominent portraits for The Skate Canada Hall of Fame such as:

Norman Scott
Sandra Bezic
Ann Shaw
Elvis Stojko
Shae-Lynn Bourne and Victor Kraatz
Tracy Wilson and Robert McCall
Michael Jiranek

Christine has received many awards and honors for her work and  has been featured in many print and online publications. She has participated in numerous competitions and was elected as juror for the 2001, 3rd AGO Art Contest.

Visit Christine’s website

 

Jeanne McTiernan

Night_light_PSAfter living and working in Ottawa (Ontario) for the past 30 years, Jeanne has returned to her hometown at l’Ile-du-Grand-Calumet (Québec), where she is now retired and pursuing her dream of opening  her very own glass studio. Jeanne and her husband live in her ancestral  house, and many of her stained glass pieces have been influenced by the beauty of the nature that surrounds her.

Visit Jeanne’s website

 

Larry Evans

Larry_Evans_PSLarry has been creating art since he was old enough to hold a pencil.

His day job was mainly technical drawing in the Ottawa area high-tech industry.

In 2002 Larry retired and took up art full time to the present. He presently lives in rural Quebec (Île-du-Grand-Calumet). He paints landscapes mainly of scenes where he lives. He recently spent two winters in Arizona. Two of his paintings are scenes from that area.

He paints scenes of the outdoor world. He chooses a range of colors to try to outdo what is visible in nature. He fortifies his acrylic paint with modeling paste to create thick, almost 3D textures. His inspiration comes from the great master Claude Monet. He used his techniques as a starting point to develop his own style.

Larry has been a member of the Pontiac Artists’ Studio Tour from 2003 to 2013. He is presently a member of  Pontiac Artists’ Association.

Dale Shutt

Dale_Shutt_PSDale Shutt is a visual artist living on Ile-du-Grand-Calumet, in Pontiac County, West Quebec. Her principal medium is painting on silk. She also works in the unique medium of woodcut printing on hand painted silk.

Dale’s work is influenced by the sights and colours that surround her where she lives and works. She likes to take the leap from what her eyes see around her to what her imagination tells her can be seen.

I look forward to welcoming you to my Island Studio.

Visit Dale’s website

 

Nicole Forget

In my early childhood, I was always fascinated by colours and I could spend hours with my colouring books and crayons – it was my favourite past-time.  In school, I loved the art class which was never long enough.

I am originally from Sturgeon Falls, Ontario and when I moved to the Pontiac region, I decided to pursue my love of art by taking watercolour courses from local artists and also artists in the Gatineau and Ottawa.

I now paint with acrylic.

When I retired eight years ago, painting took up an important part of my time.  I was able to paint and learn from two local artists, Betty Russell from Norway Bay and Annette Asselin from l’Île-du-Grand-Calumet.

I love travelling and nature. My camera is always with me,  ready to capture what my eyes observe in order to help me recreate these images on canvas.

 

Martina Derouin Evans

I am a mixed media artist and quilter, who in 2002 returned to my  birthplace, Calumet Island Quebec, after a 35 yr. banking career and raising two wonderful sons, to retire with my husband of 50 yrs. Larry Evans, who is also an artist.

I love to work with wonderful Golden gels and mediums and other great inks and paints that are available today. I love experimenting and discovering exciting techniques.

I belong to the Pontiac Artist’s Association, and the Renfrew Quilters’ Guild.

I am also a member of a local artist trading card group that meet the last Saturday of the month, at Café 349, in Shawville Quebec.

Visit Martina’s website

Artistes de l’Île-du-Grand-Calumet

Christine Belanger

Norman ScottL’art fait partie de la vie de Christine depuis la jeune enfance. La fascination avec le dessin du visage humain a commencé tard durant son âge d’adolescente. Après la découverte de pastels doux dans une classe de dessin, elle s’est consacrée aux pastels doux et la peinture de portrait. Bien que l’autodidacte dans la peinture de portrait, elle a étudié dans le programme de Beaux arts au Collège d’Héritage à Gatineau.

Christine a créé beaucoup de portraitspour le Temple de la renommée du patinage artistique canadien comme tels:

Norman Scott
Sandra Bezic
Ann Shaw
Shae-Lynn Bourne et Victor Kraatz
Tracy Wilson et Robert McCall
Michael Jiranek

Christine a reçu beaucoup de récompenses et honneurs pour son travail et a été représentée dans beaucoup de répliques d’œuvres et de publications en ligne. Elle a participé à de nombreuses compétitions et a été élue comme le juré pour le 2001, 3ème Concours d’Art en ligne.

Visitez Christine sur Facebook

 

Jeanne McTiernan

Night_light_PSAprès 30 ans de vie et de travail à Ottawa, Jeanne est revenue chez-elle à l’Ile-du-Grand-Calumet où, maintenant retraitée, elle compte poursuivre son rêve d’ouvrir un studio de vitrail. Elle et son mari, Tom, vivent dans la maison ancestrale où plusieurs de ses pièces ont été influencées par la beauté des paysages environnants.

Visitez le site de Jeanne

 

Larry Evans

Larry_Evans_PSLarry a créé l’art depuis qu’il était assez vieux pour tenir un crayon.

Son travail était dessinateur dans le domaine de l’industrie de la technologie dans la région d’Ottawa.

Depuis sa retraite en 2002, Larry consacre son temps à la peinture. Il vit actuellement à l’Île-du-Grand-Calumet. Il peint des paysages principalement de scènes où il vit. Il a récemment passé deux hivers en Arizona. Deux de ses peintures sont des scènes de cette région.

Il peint des scènes du monde extérieur. Il choisit une gamme de couleurs pour essayer de surpasser ce qui est visible dans la nature. Il fortifie sa peinture acrylique avec de la pâte à modeler pour créer des textures presque 3D. Son inspiration vient du grand maître Claude Monet. Il a utilisé ses techniques comme un point de départ pour développer son propre style.

Larry a été membre de la Tournée des Ateliers d’Artistes du Pontiac de 2003 à 2013. Il est actuellement membre de l’Association des Artistes Pontiac.

Dale Shutt

Dale_Shutt_PSDale Shutt est une artiste en art visuel demeurant sur l’Île-du-Grand-Calumet, dans le comté de Pontiac (région de l’Outaouais). Son principal médium est la peinture sur soie, aussi a-t-elle exploré la gravure sur bois (estampe) pour en imprimer la soie.

Le paysage entourant son atelier et sa résidence sont ses sources principales d’inspiration. Dale s’imprègne de son environnement tout en donnant libre cours à son imagination.

J’ai très hâte de vous y recevoir à mon atelier sur l’ile.

Visitez le site de Dale Shutt

 

Nicole Forget

Dès ma tendre enfance, j’étais fascinée par les couleurs et je pouvais passer des heures à colorier – c’était mon activité favorite.  À l’école, j’aimais bien le cours d’art qui n’était jamais assez long.

Je suis native de Sturgeon Falls en Ontario et c’est en venant m’établir dans la région de Pontiac que j’ai décidé de poursuivre ma passion pour la peinture.  J’ai commencé  à  l’aquarelle en prenant des cours avec des artistes du Pontiac et de la région de Gatineau et d’Ottawa.

Maintenant, je peins à l’acrylique.

Depuis ma retraite il y a huit ans, la peinture occupe  une grande partie de mon temps libre et je peins à chaque semaine avec deux artistes de la région, Betty Russell de Norway Bay et Annette Asselin de l’Ile du Grand Calumet.

Je suis aussi passionnée de voyages et de la nature.   Ma caméra m’accompagne partout afin de capter et garder plus longtemps ce que mes yeux observent et par la suite pouvoir recréer ces images sur une toile.

 

Martina Derouin Evans

Je suis une artiste médiatique mixte et fais de la courtepointe.

Après une carrière de 35 ans dans le domaine bancaire et avoir élevé deux fils merveilleux, en 2002, je suis revenue dans mon lieu de naissance : L’Ile-du-Grand-Calumet, avec mon époux depuis 50 ans, Larry Evans, qui  lui aussi est un artiste.

J’aime travailler avec les merveilleux gels d’or et autres médiums disponibles de nos jours. Ma passion est d’expérimenter et découvrir de nouvelles techniques J’appartiens à l’Association de l’Artiste Pontiac et au Renfrew Quilters’ Guild. Je suis aussi membre d’un groupe d’artistes locaux et ont se rencontre les derniers samedis du mois, au Café 349 à Shawville, Québec.

Visitez le site de Martina